St. Michael`s Monastery Museum was created on July 1998 right after the works on The Monastery’s reconstruction started. A great number of archeological findings had to be systematized.
At the same time the Museum’s conception was created – use the example of the destroyed museum to show the destiny of cult Kyiv constructions in Bolshevist epoch. Destruction of St. Michael’s Cathedral became culmination of anti-religious vandalism. That’s why the exposition is divided into two parts: the Low Hall introduces the Monastery, its role in Ukrainian history and culture, exhibits priceless findings from the monastery. The upper part of the exposition is dedicated to Bolsheviks` struggle against religious cult monuments and also narrates the unique history of the famous temple restoration from fresh start.
Models and pictures of the Cathedral in different historical periods, construction materials of which it was built, fragments of wall paintings and smalts decorating the Temple are represented in the Museum, located in the bell tower and the adjoining building of Varvara cells
The substantial part of the Museum is occupied by the findings made during excavation of the Museum territory in 1994-1999y. Among then the central place belongs to the sensational finding – a carved rag with Holly Warrior printed on it. The rag dates to the 11th century.
Another exhibit, which was actually found by the Kyiv Art School in 1956, is the copper gold-plated high relief – the great work of Kyiv school of 17-18 centuries. The Silver Royal doors of 1811, belonging to the Temple’s main iconostasis are exhibited in the Museum hall.
The Museum is decorated by portraits of Ukrainian Hetmans, Abbots and Hermits of the Monastery. The show windows contain old editions and religious literature of 18 and 19 centuries, revealing the historical and cultural role of the Monastery and its main Temple.
The exhibition describing the tragedy of this particular one and other Kyiv temples in 1930th is located on the second floor of the Museum under the bell tower. Over 30 churches were destroyed after Ukraine’s capital was moved from Kharkiv to Kyiv.
The Museum demonstrates the photos of vandal destruction of Michael’s cathedral, its unique frescos demolition, documents about “little artistic value of the Cathedral” that determined the Cathedral’s destiny.
The walls of the exhibition hall are covered with images of perished shrines, most of which can’t be revived.
Martyrology of courageous scientists, who risked defending the building has something in common with martyrology of buildings that suffered from “The red campaign” against religious spirit.
The same part of the exposition includes project agreements on Monastery Complex restoration, documentary chronicle of renewal of one of the main religious centers and architectural complexes of the country.