Address: 6 / 9, Konstantinovskaya Str., Kiev
Phone: +38 (044) 417-21-06.
Opening Hours: 10.00-17.00
Closed on Sunday and Monday.
Charity in history of Kiev is emphasized in the Museum as well as personalities of secular and church patrons of art, thanks to whom the city was enriched with many buildings – from temples to educational institution. And they did not think about PR and image. They sacrificed their capitals in intensity of faith and inside need to share with society
This museum is the second permanent exhibition, along with museum of Magdeburg justice, which tells about Kiev city life, relationships between Authorities and people, the domestic life of past times. Charity in history of Kiev is emphasized in the Museum as well as personalities of secular and church patrons of art, thanks to whom the city was enriched with many buildings – from temples to educational institution. And they did not think about PR and image. They sacrificed their capitals in intensity of faith and inside need to share with society. And now we can repay them and get to know about their activity in this informative museum.
The exposition for the Museum of Charity, such as documents, furniture and pictures, was gathered for several years. The most precious exhibit is a rare baroque icon “Madonna with a child” of 18th century. Carving is almost fully saved on it. It is suggested that it must be a part of iconostasis of some Orthodox church. In interiors there is furniture of different styles of 19th century, in particular, which adorned the house of the famous civil governor and patron of art Ivan Fundukley, who ruled the city in 1830-40 years. You will be told very interesting facts about history of Aleksandrovskiy shelter, which was situated in this house. Out of the rarities of later time, the portrait of Lev Tolstoy is of great interest: every line on it is composed with the words from “Kreyserova Sonata”. The exhibition is illustrated by great number of engravings of past years and items of bygone epoch.
The main exhibit in the Museum is its building – one of the legendary Kiev buildings, which survived the fire of 1811. Known as “house of Peter I” (however, some historians think that tsar’s staying in this building in 1706 – is a city legend), the house always attracted attention by its unusual architecture. It has a long history with unexpected turns. It was built at the end of 17th century as house of Kiev “voyt” (mayor) Yan Bykovich. Later, augmented and rebuilt, it was a strait house (a kind of elite hospital for people with mental disorder) and parish school and Aleksandrovskiy shelter for children. So the history itself ordered to open the Museum, dedicated to Kiev charity, right here.